Tallahassee Shoplifting & Theft Attorney
Shoplifting or theft in Florida ranges in severity, and can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the value of what was stolen, how it was stolen, whom it was stolen from, and whether you have prior theft convictions. However, theft charges never look good on one’s personal record, and can hinder an individual from obtaining a good job or finding a nice place to live. Because of how such charges can negatively impact your future, it is important that you work with a Tallahassee shoplifting & theft attorney when accused of a crime involving theft.
Types of Theft Charges in Florida
Under Florida Statute 812.014 (1), theft is defined as “…knowingly obtain[ing] or us[ing], or endeavor[ing] to obtain or to use the property of another with the intent to, temporarily or permanently: Deprive the other person of a right to the property or a benefit from the property…[and] appropriate[ing] the property to [your] own use or to the use of any person not entitled to the use of the property.”
In Florida, there are five types of theft that you may be charged with:
* Petit Theft: Petit theft is considered a misdemeanor in Florida, and can be broken down into two additional categories: 1) Taking property with a value of less than $100; such an offense may be charged as a second degree misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 60 days in county jail and a $500 fine. 2) Taking property with a value of more than $100 but less than $300; such an offense may be charged as a first degree misdemeanor and is punishable by a maximum penalty of one year in county jail and a $1,000 fine;
- Grand Theft of the First Degree: If the property taken is valued at $100,000 or more, the offender may be charged with a first degree felony and be subject to a maximum of 30 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine;
- Grand Theft of the Second Degree: If the property taken is valued at between $20,000 and $99,999, the offender may be charged with a second degree felony and be subject to a maximum of 15 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine;
- Grand Theft of the Third Degree: If the property taken is valued at between $300 and $19,999, the offender may be charged with a third degree felony and be subject to a maximum of five years in prison and up to a $5,000 fine; or
- Shoplifting/Retail Theft: A person may be charged with shoplifting if their offense involved stealing from a merchant retailer. The severity of their charges and how they are punished is all dependent upon the value of the items taken and whether they have prior theft convictions.
A Tallahassee Shoplifting, Theft & Property Offenses Attorney is Your Strongest Defense
If you have been charged with stealing from another person or entity, or with shoplifting, it is important that you seek the legal skill of a Tallahassee shoplifting, theft, and property offenses attorney right away. Even if you face petit theft charges, a criminal record will hinder your ability to pursue certain goals in your life, such as getting your dream job or obtaining a home loan. For help reducing or dropping the theft charges brought against you, reach out to the knowledgeable and aggressive legal team at Zelman Law.
Zelman Law is located in downtown Tallahassee, a convenient short distance from the Leon County courthouse. To make an appointment with one of our shoplifting, theft, and property offenses attorneys, call our office at (850) 765-5948 between 8:00 and 5:00 pm, Monday – Friday. If it is after hours, contact us online to reserve your appointment.